Six teams of Ohio State University students who participated in the first-ever President’s Buckeye Accelerator each received $50,000 to fund their entrepreneurial projects.

The six winners were among 10 teams that pitched their ideas to a panel of Ohio entrepreneurs on April 6. The pitch final took place at 99P Labs and was hosted by the Keenan Center for Entrepreneurshipa campus-wide hub for the development of start-up companies.

The goal of the President’s Buckeye Accelerator is to support President Kristina M. Johnson’s vision of fostering innovation and entrepreneurship among students and helping them found startups and test their ideas in the marketplace while pursuing studies, said Grace Wang, executive vice president of Ohio State. for research, innovation and knowledge.

“We are impressed and inspired by the energy and creativity of our students,” said Wang, who spoke to all participating teams. “Entrepreneurship fuels ingenuity, presents new possibilities, and enables our students to translate their ideas into marketable solutions to benefit communities while achieving their dreams. They’ll be running businesses that haven’t been created yet, and that’s very exciting.

Anjali Prabhakaran, member of the winning team Strengthen health along with Chase Fensore (College of Engineering), Morgan Nemcek (College of Arts and Sciences), and Angelina Atieh (College of Medicine), said the funding will help the team build a platform to help users manage metabolic diseases.

“It’s designed to help educate patients on how they can improve their lifestyle to improve their health,” said Prabhakaran, a student in the College of Education and Human Ecology. “It will also help doctors better access patient data and connect patients with others who share their diagnosis so they can share disease management advice and find support from a community that understands. the difficulties we all go through together.”

Tessa Cannon, member of the winning team For the love of primates as well as Madelyn Green, a student at the College of Arts and Sciences, and community members Melissa Renner, Rian Nagel and Michelle Gonzalez, said her team will use part of the funding to design a sanctuary for primates who have been abused. and neglected.

“The other half (of the funding) is for our fundraising campaign, which will help us … build the sanctuary and start bringing in our primates,” said Cannon, a student at the College of Arts and Sciences.

College of Engineering students Adithya Ramaswami and Jack Murray from the winning team FireFight Aero said the funding will help them build prototypes and begin manufacturing drones designed to support the work of firefighters.

“A big part of what we’re looking to do is start working with potential suppliers on demand,” Murray said. “That’s a huge part of what it’s going to be for. The other big part is training and developing a training program, because that’s the next step we need to build. »

“We are both aerospace engineering students, graduating next year with our bachelor’s degrees (diplomas),” Ramaswami said. “Being able to take our skills and merge them to create meaningful technology to help save lives in our community is not only hugely important to us, but exciting. We are extremely grateful to be part of this program, but also to offer solutions that will help the community.

The other winning teams are:

A cubic design – Team Members Garrett Carder (College of Arts and Sciences), Caroline Karbowski (College of Arts and Sciences) and Enan Srivastava (College of Arts and Sciences).

Holocron Technologies – Team members Addam Jensen (College of Arts and Sciences), Glenn Shell (Auburn University), Tristan Yang (Columbia University) and Jared Edwards (Columbia University).

ServUS – Team Members Yasmeen Quadri (College of Arts and Sciences), Simon Yacoub (College of Medicine), Danielle Sullivan (Community Member), Clayton Nelson (Community Member), Anitvir Taunque (College of Medicine) , Gus Scaria (College of Arts and Sciences) and Tabitha Wills (College of Arts and Sciences).

The other teams that participated in the pitch final are:

Common interest – Team Members Clyde Compton (Fisher College of Business), Ana Carolina Franca de Sousa (Fisher College of Business), Tim Barry (Fisher College of Business and Moritz College of Law), Michelle Weingartner (Fisher College of Business), Ajay Karthik (Fisher College of Business), Atiqur Rahman (Fisher College of Business), JR Ramsey (Fisher College of Business), Briana Elias (Fisher College of Business), Layne Chrisman (College of Engineering), John Fleming (College of Engineering), Vinay Kenkare (College of Engineering), Noah Woods (College of Engineering), Ian Roberts (College of Engineering) and Ellison Hoke (Fisher College of Business).

Electrion – Team Members Anita Nti (College of Engineering), Jacob Buaful (College of Engineering) and Caleb Buaful (College of Engineering).

SmileChild – Team Members Amani Djouadi (College of Pharmacy), Ava Barone (College of Arts and Sciences) and Devi Nelakurti (College of Medicine)

Yulo – Team member Andrew Gilgen (Fisher College of Business).

Students who participated in the President’s Buckeye Accelerator were selected through an application process and, on March 2, completed Boost Camp sessions that provided them with mentorship and feedback. Ten Boost Camp participants have been selected to compete in the April 6 pitch final.

‘, ‘window.fbAsyncInit = function() {‘, ‘FB.init({‘, ‘appId:’216372371876365′,’, ‘xfbml:true,’, ‘version: ‘v2.6” , ‘});’ ]; ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.push(‘};’); var ppFacebookSDK = [
‘(function(d, s, id) {‘,
‘var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];’, ‘if (d.getElementById(id)) return;’, ‘js = d.createElement(s); = id;’, ‘js.src = “”;’, ‘fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);’, ‘}( document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));’ ]; ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK = ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.concat(ppFacebookSDK); ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.push(‘‘); ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK = ppLoadLater.placeholderFBSDK.join(“n”);